47 becomes 16 – the regional award winners shortlisted for Site Manager of the Year 2019

After nine nail-biting weeks, 15 fabulous awards events, and nearly 50 hopeful contenders, we now know who is vying to be crowned Site Manager of the Year at the LABC Building Excellence Awards 2019.

The final 16 are:

With the series of regional awards complete in Bristol on July 12, the winning 16 will have Friday 8 November penciled into their diaries when the overall winner will be announced at a glitzy annual awards ceremony in London.

The regional winners and grand final site manager contenders are:





Jason Oakley

Ampthill Chase


Bloor Homes

Aaron Nevill

Tilkey Road

East Anglia

Nevill Developments LTD

David MacDonald

Woodthorpe and Winchester

East Midlands

Willmott Dixon Construction

Chris Hayden

West End Gate


Berkeley St. Edward

Jonathan Gray

Holly Tree Court

North & East Yorkshire

Gray & Sons Ltd

Radoslav Ivanchev

The Oaks

North Wales

Persimmon Homes

Mark Bailey

The Broadway

North West

M H Stainton Ltd

Martin Hunt

Wynyard Rise


Dere Street Homes Ltd

Chris Banfield

Archery Road

South East

Gemselect LTD

Brian Thomas James

Albert Town

South Wales

Hale Construction Ltd

Kevin McKernon

15 Alton Road

South West

Whitelock Group Ltd

Daniel Royce

Old Road Conisbrough

South Yorkshire & Humber

Willmott Dixon

Mick Rose & Peter Hurst

The Brambles

West Midlands

Bloor Homes Limted

Simon Kay

Preston Leigh

West of England

Ashford Homes

Sandy Young

Harley Green

West Yorkshire

ESH Construction Ltd


Across England and Wales, a total of 47 site managers were highly commended for their work. Many have spoken about the challenges they face, including logistics, access and even nature adding to an already complex role.

In South Wales, Hale Construction’s Brian James had to wait while hundreds of slow worms on his site were safely relocated before work could commence. In Doncaster, Willmott Dixon’s Dan Royce had to contend with shallower than expected bedrock, yet still earned praise from the local authority on the quality of his site. While over in Morecambe, Mark Bailey from M H Stainton successfully managed the pressure of building a landmark seafront development as well as an on-site team of 50.

LABC Warranty Risk Management Surveyors nominate site managers. Through our partnership with LABC, the Site Manager Award is presented at the regional LABC Building Excellence Award ceremonies where each award winner secures a place at the national finals later this year.

LABC Warranty works with over 3,000 sites nationally and is only able to recognise a small number of site managers through these awards, so being shortlisted for the regional finals and then winning to go through to the grand final is a great achievement.

Mike Swatton, LABC Warranty Business Development Director and Head Judge, said: “The standard of qualifiers across the board has been exceptional, once again raising the bar for construction standards.”

The LABC Warranty Site Manager of the Year award is announced as part of the LABC’s Building Excellence Awards Grand Finals 2019, which take place on Friday 8 November 2019 at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge in London. Ticket details are available on the LABC website.


Please Note: Every care was taken to ensure the information in this article was correct at the time of publication. Any written guidance provided does not replace the reader’s professional judgement and any construction project should comply with the relevant Building Regulations or applicable technical standards. However, for the most up to date LABC Warranty technical guidance please refer to your Risk Management Surveyor and the latest version of the LABC Warranty technical manual.


Was this post helpful? /