How to get nominated for The Bricks 2018

If you have been following our social media, you will have noticed that we recently celebrated the very best of developers in the construction industry at our annual awards, The Bricks.

Unlike other industry awards, The Bricks is an exclusive awards party for all finalists. We pride ourselves in crafting a totally unique and decadent experience that finalists will be talking about for years to come. But more than that, our awards hold weight within the industry and allow you to proclaim loudly to the world just how good you really are.

If you missed out this year, don’t worry because it all starts again with putting forward nominations for 2018!

Bloor Homes South Midlands' site Ampthill Chase
Winner of Development of the Year (51+ Units South 2017)

How do you enter The Bricks?

The short answer is… you don’t need to. LABC Warranty Risk Management Surveyors are responsible for nominating sites that they visit as part of their role.

So all you need to worry about is ensuring you’re doing everything to the best of your ability and going that extra mile to really make yourself stand out against the competition.

If your site is eligible for an award (link to awards criteria) and you want to ensure your site is put forward for consideration, make sure you mention it to your LABC Warranty Risk Management Surveyor. They will then enter your development into the running should you meet the awards criteria.

Key areas we look at when nominating a site

There are several key areas we look at when putting a nomination forward, each including a robust set of criteria to be scored against. These include:

  • Foundations
  • Substructure
  • Super Structure
  • Roofs
  • First Fix
  • Second fix
  • Finishes
  • External works
  • Site Organisation

What comes next?

Taking The Bricks from the point of nominations to the final event is a long process. You can find a break down of the process and an idea of the timeframes involved below:

  • September - April: Warranty Risk Management Surveyors submit nominations.
  • May - June: Nominations are verified by Warranty Regional Managers
  • July - August: Nominees are announced and judges visit nominated sites.
  • September: Finalists are announced and invited to The Bricks award celebration. External judging day with industry experts.
  • October / November: Winners announced at The Bricks award celebration.

Good luck! We hope to see you at next year’s event. In the meantime check out the highlights from 2017.


Please Note: Every care was taken to ensure the information in this article was correct at the time of publication. Any written guidance provided does not replace the reader’s professional judgement and any construction project should comply with the relevant Building Regulations or applicable technical standards. However, for the most up to date LABC Warranty technical guidance please refer to your Risk Management Surveyor and the latest version of the LABC Warranty technical manual.


Was this post helpful? /